Long Time, No See

6 Apr

Can it really be two months since I last posted? Apparently so. Things have been rather busy for me since late January (for generally good reasons!), and some activities – like blogging – fell off my priority list entirely. Now it’s Good Friday and I really can’t pretend anymore that it’s still late winter (despite the weather). Where on earth has the time gone? How can it be April already? And my diary for April is rather bursting, with the promise of further bustle in May …

Strange how time crawled when I was a child, and holidays or special events seemed impossibly far-off. Right now, a couple of months shy of my quarter-century mark, it feels like the clocks spin ever faster every day.

I’m not sure when I’ll get back to any sort of regular blogging – not that, ahem, I was particularly regular before. Let’s say, instead, that I don’t know when I shall get back to even semi-regular blogging. I continue to read blogs & comment but it takes rather more energy to come up with things of my own to say! Perhaps Camp NaNoWriMo may bring me back to the fold, in June or August?

In lieu of my focused presence for the time being, enjoy this lady and her truly splendid example of a traditional Welsh hat:

Mary Parry, Llanfechnell. Taken 1875

Mary Parry, Llanfechnell - taken 1875. Photograph from the collection of the Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru/National Library of Wales, on Flickr.

Doesn’t she look a marvellous character? I love how people didn’t feel obliged to paste smiles on their face for photographs in those days.

More of the Llyfrgell Genedlaethol Cymru/National Library of Wales’s collection of photographs can be seen on its Flickr account, and I highly recommend you to browse through – there are many wonderful snapshots from the mid-19th to the mid-20th century, showcasing the life and people of the past. Which is your favourite of the photos? I’d love to know!

Leave a comment